Professor G.Q. Max Lu is the standing deputy to the Vice-Chancellor and President of the University, providing leadership for the University\\'s overall strategic planning, academic quality, budget and infrastructure management.

His line management responsibilities include six faculties and four research institutes. Working with the Executive Deans and Institute Directors, Professor Lu provides executive leadership of the academic, research and financial performance of the academic enterprise. He is supported by the Pro-Vice-Chancellor in managing the Gatton Campus and the UQ Art Museum.

Researcher biography

Prior to taking up the role as Provost and Senior Vice-President in March 2014, Professor Lu had served as Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) since 2009 and as acting Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor from December 2011 to October 2012. Professor Lu held the position of Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research Linkages) from October 2008 to April 2009, following his service as the Foundation Director of the ARC Centre of Excellence for Functional Nanomaterials for 7 years.

After completing his PhD, Professor Lu spent three years in Singapore as Lecturer at Nanyang Technological University. Since 1994, he had held positions of Senior Lecturer, Associate Professor, Professor and Chair of Nanotechnology in Chemical Engineering at UQ. He won the prestigious ARC Federation Fellowship twice (2003 and 2008).

Professor Lu has served on numerous government committees and advisory boards including those under the Prime Minister’s Science, Engineering and Innovation Council (2004, 2005 and 2009) and ARC College of Experts (2002-2004). He is the past Chairman of the Institution of Chemical Engineers (IChemE) Australia Board and former Director of the Board of Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (ATSE). His other previous board memberships include Australian Synchrotron, Uniseed, National Emerging Technologies Forum, Research Data Storage Infrastructure, Queensland China Council, Stem Cells Australia, and Translational Research Institute. He is currently a member of the Brisbane Lord Mayor’s Economic Development Steering Committee, and the International Scientific Advisory Committee of the Great Barrier Reef Foundation.